top of page

An Ode To My Childhood


This ode is to my happiness, which is simple and sweet.

It's the sound of the ice cream truck driving slowly down my street.

The taste of a root beer float, leaving my body calm and collected,

Never knowing what time it is

Cause time didn’t matter

In the midst of it all.


This ode is to my happiness, full of emotions that overwhelm me.

It's the early morning wake-up calls and the long drives to different schools.

The feeling of my feet connecting to the track as I compete with strangers and friends.

Never wondering how much longer I can run for,

Anxious to lose,

But excited to win.


This ode is to my happiness, that never stayed around long but was a valued companion.

It's those talks with my friends that 5-year-old me thought were “deep.”

“What if everything was in slow motion, Leya?”

“What if we floated and never stopped...

And we touched the stars...

AND WE RUN INTO SUPER WHY!”


This ode is to my happiness, something that never took rest for granted.

It's the quiet drive home from places that provide me serenity.

My siblings' whispers singing like a lullaby,

My eyes were beginning to feel like lead

While my heart is warm.


This ode is to my happiness that somehow finds me no matter the distance.

It's the family reunion held in my grandmother’s backyard.

Dancing to Cupid Shuffle in perfect harmony,

Our stomachs full

But our smiles are broad.


This ode is to my happiness, as it watched me wish to grow up.

It's the career day at school, and you wish

To be just like your parents,

Saving the world every day

No matter what happens.


This ode is to my happiness because it allowed me to look back on these memories.

Cherishing the good and evil.

Wanting them back.

Craving more.


An ode to my childhood memories,

For providing me with that happiness

And allowing me to be me.


Recent Posts

See All

Nothing is Fair

Nothing is fair When I struggle with my hair Or debate which mask can take in the most air. Nothing is fair In the ways school teaches me. Especially when they skip over certain parts of history. Noth

Drop Me a Line, Let Me Know What You Think

Thanks for submitting!

© 2023 by Train of Thoughts. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page